DUI SCHOOL

‘DUI School “ is the Risk Reduction Program and it has
two components, the Needs Survey and the Intervention
Components. These are available through approximately
200 DUI Risk Reduction Programs (DUI Schools)
throughout the state. Programs and Instructors must be
certified and approved by the Department of Driver
Services.

The Needs Survey component is designed to help the
offender understand his level of involvement with
alcohol and/or drugs and how it impacts his life. The
assessment tool, called NEEDS, is the first step.

The Intervention Component consists of a 20 hour ther-
apeutic education curriculum. It is designed to change
the actual drinking and drug use behavior of the
individual.

CLINICAL EVALUATION AND PROVIDING
TREATMENT

Unless it is waived by a court order for first offenders, a
clinical evaluation is required. A clinical evaluation is a
face-to-face interview conducted by a DBHDD
approved licensed or certified professional who works
in the field of addiction. You must select a clinical
evaluator from the DBHDD approved list.

Based on their professional judgment, the clinical evalu-
ator may recommend treatment. Treatment means at-
tendance and participation in the type of program rec-
ommended by the evaluator. The minimum amount of
treatment is six (6) weeks. The maximum amount of
treatment is fifty-two (52) weeks. Treatment is required
if determined necessary by the clinical evaluator. Be
sure you attend a DBH approved treatment program.

OUT OF STATE ISSUES
Check before you go to a program outside of Georgia.

The Georgia Department Driver Services (DDS) may
not accept certificates of completion of a DUI School
from another state unless the program is approved by the
DDS as being in substantial conformity with the course
content used by Georgia’s DUI Alcohol or Drug Use
Risk Reduction Programs. They must be 20 hours or
more of classroom (not Internet) risk reduction educa-
tion. Check with DDS at 678-413-8400. Not all states
are in substantial conformity.

If you are a Georgia resident or were considered to be a
Georgia resident at the time of arrest and you are considering
attendance at a treatment program outside of Georgia, contact
the Georgia DUI Intervention Program at (404) 657-6433 to
determine whether the program has been approved and
whether it will be accepted by Georgia.

UNDER 21

If you are under 21, the blood alcohol concentration limit is
0.02 grams. (Note: 0.04 grams for persons operating a
commercial vehicle.) There are additional requirements and
limitations imposed. You may not be eligible for a limited
driving permit prior to the end of the suspension.

DRUG POSSESSION

A conviction of drug possession may also result in the
suspension of a driver’s license. Even if there is no
conviction of driving under the influence, many of the same
requirements will apply, in addition to any other
consequences.

HOW DO I GET MY LICENSE REINSTATED?

Contact the Department of Driver Services to find out what is
required in your case. They can be reached at 678-413-8400.

The information in this brochure is for informational purposes only
and does not constitute legal advice in any way. If you have any
questions regarding your legal rights contact an attorney at law.

DUI Intervention Program
2 Peachtree Street, N.W., Suite 22-285
Atlanta, Georgia, 30303-3142
Phone: 404-657-6433
Fax: 404-657-6417

https://gaduiintervention.dbhdd.ga.gov
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GEORGIA DUI LAWS

WHAT IS DUI?

DUI is the possession of alcohol while operating a motor
vehicle. In Georgia, when you are caught with the Blood
Alcohol Content (or BAC) of 0.08 grams or more, or if you
refuse to be tested, you will face a series of consequences.
The suspension of your license usually occurs before the
criminal case is heard. You may also have an additional
hearing before an Administrative Law judge regarding the
administrative suspension.

Conviction of Boating Under the Influence (BUI) will also
result in suspension of the privilege to operate a boat or
vessel on the waters within the state.

DUI Intervention Program Website
https://gaduiintervention.dbhdd.ga.gov

This web site:
®  Gives information about Georgia DUI laws

®  Supplies the application procedures and policies for
Clinical Evaluators and Treatment Providers for the
State of Georgia if approved

®  Provides resources or links to other agencies
e Has this brochure so that you may make copies

IMPORTANT FACTS

Driving Under the Influence is a crime. Consequences can
affect your freedom as well as your finances. If convicted,
you will immediately become involved with a number of
agencies.

1. A probation officer

2. A detention facility (jail)

3. A DDS approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Abuse Risk
Reduction Program

4. A DBH approved Clinical Evaluator

5. A DBH approved Substance Abuse Treatment Provid-
er

6. The Georgia Department of Driver Services or DDS
(regarding driver’s license reinstatement issues)

7. An ignition interlock service provider

8. A community service organization, while completing
required community service

9. Various officers and employees of the courts.

FIRST DUI Offense/First Offender

e Drivers License suspended for 12 months ( may apply
for reinstatement after 120 days if requirements have
been met).

e Complete DUI School
e  Fine not less than $300 or more than $1000

e  Jail term of not less than 10 days or more than 12
months, however, the judge may suspend or probate all
but 24 hours

e Not less than 40 hours of community service unless
BAL was .08 or less, in such case the community may
be as little as 20 hours

e A clinical evaluation, unless waived by the court

e Completion of a treatment program if recommended by
the evaluation

e 12 months probation

Aggravating circumstances could result in additional jail
time. These circumstances included:

e  Speeding more than 30 mph over the posted speed limit
e Going the wrong way on the highway

Alcohol level of 0.08 or above

Refusing the BAC tests

Causing an accident that harms or kills someone

Having children under the age of twelve in your car

If you are guilty of one of the above conditions, Georgia
DUI law says that you must spend up to four days in jail.
You cannot be released until those four days are served.

SECOND DUI Offense/Multiple Offender

Second DUI within five years

e Drivers license suspended for 3 years or 1 year if
enrolled in treatment and other conditions have been
met.

e Between $600 and $1000 fines

Jail time of between 90 days and 12 months, however,
the judge may suspend or probate all but 72 hours

Not less than 30 days of community service
Complete DUI School
Mandatory completion of Clinical Evaluation

Completion of a treatment program if recommended by
the evaluator (this can’t be waived by a judge)

e 12 months probation
e Ignition interlock system required for 6 months

THIRD DUI Offense/Habitual Violator

Third DUI within five years

®  Drivers License suspended for 5 years or 2 years if
completed treatment and other conditions.

®  The fine is not less than $1000 or more than $5000

®  Jail term between 3 and 12 months, the judge may
suspend all but 15 days

®  No less than 30 days of community service unless the
defendant is sentenced to serve 3 years in prison

®  Complete DUI school

®  Mandatory completion of Clinical Evaluation

®  Completion of a treatment program if recommended
by the evaluator (this can’t be waived by a judge)

® | year probation, less time served

e Ignition interlock system required for 6 months

In the State of Georgia a habitual offender is someone who
has three DUI convictions within a 10 year window after 7-
1-08 or within 5 years prior to that date.

FORTH DUI Offense/Felony

Four DUI’s within 10 years is a felony and results in one to
five years in prison.

® 5 years probation
e  Other penalties required of Habitual offenders.

Note: There may be other fees or costs by the Court or
other agencies, in addition to attorney’s fees.

BOATING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

Conviction of Boating under the Influence (BUI) will
result in suspension of the privilege to operate a boat or
vessel within the state and will require completion of a
treatment program before you can regain your boating
privileges.



